As some of you may know there is no license for Bounty Hunters or Bail Fugitive Recovery Agents in California. However, the state will once again be implementing requirements in which you must meet in order to lawfully bounty hunt starting January of 2013. The California Assembly Bill 2029 will be putting the same requirements of the previous law Penal Code 1299 back into effect.This means that a fugitive recovery agent in California must:
1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Not be convicted of a Felony
3. Have completed a 40 hour powers to arrest course certified by the Commission of Peace Officers Stands and Training(P.O.S.T.).
4. Have completed an 8 hour powers to arrest course certified by the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services.
5. Have completed a minimum of 12 hours classroom education certified pursuant to section 1810.7 of the California Insurance Code.(Bail Pre-Licensing Course)
As of right now, there are still no weapon permits for Bounty Hunters or Fugitive Recovery Agents in California. We are subject to the same laws as civilians. However, 12031(k)PC allows a civilian the use of a firearm while attempting to make a lawful arrest(emphasis on lawful). If you are unfamiliar with California law let me be the first to tell you. There are many actions and/or verbal statements that would turn an otherwise lawful arrest into an illegal one, making the possession of a firearm a crime itself. If you yourself are not familiar with these laws I highly suggest you take the time to get educated in this field or leave this work to those who are experienced. Proceeding without this knowledge will likely land you in jail with the fugitive you are attempting to apprehend.